Arizona Ghost Town Tour: day 6 (what a fright!)

Miles = 455

Total trip miles=1,914

Wild animals running across the road in front of Rick= 1 deer

Smooshed penny = 1 (from yesterday)

Curves= in short supply. Rick stopped counting after 33 in over 150 miles

Quote of the trip= as we were saying our goodbyes to Laura’s mom Kate and her Aunt Deb her Aunt says to me, “I look forward to reading your podcast.” How precious is that?

We rode the 72>62>10 (nearly being blown off the road at that interchange. What a horrid experience)>210>134>101>Home!

Our ride through Arizona
Lots of this leaving Arizona
Super cool bridge somewhere in the vast open road
Lots of this (and a big bug splat) in California
Lots of this on the 210 and some rain to boot!

The 62 where it interchanges to the 10 is the scariest thing ever. Worse than the 191. Worse than when we were in Europe and I dropped the bike in traffic on a curve as a Porsche flew past. Worse than the winds in Virginia City on Dash. I think Rick was trying to kill me and Laura was just collateral damage 😉. Those winds were so hard they drove us almost parallel to the ground from the right. The gusts drove you into the other lane which if you didn’t push to the left would have pushed you into dirt and gravel. It was frightening. There was no stopping or turning around. You just had to push through. Rick slowed to check on Laura (who I found out later had been blown close to the dirt emergency lane 2x) but I knew I couldn’t so I just pushed on until- of all things- there was a stop light at the top of the gusty ridge and of course it was red what stupid ass puts a stoplight there? A stupid ass that doesn’t ride a motorcycle that’s who! Almost dropped the bike stopping but my P90X3 workouts saved me and I pulled that bike upright like a body builder because you needed that much force in those wind gusts.

Once on the 10 it got better (relatively speaking) and I continued on toward home. Traffic wasn’t bad until, of course, it started sprinkling (which is worse than rain because all the oils come to the surface) but I was undeterred. Then traffic stopped on the 210 due to an accident so lane splitting it was. Then on the 101 another accident and more lane splitting (honestly my hands were aching) so I rode in the emergency lane I had about had it with lane splitting. Some of those cars have side view mirrors like elephant ears. What are they looking at Mars? I thought the ticket would be worth it. After merging into the fast lane (relatively speaking) I passed the accident and was up to speed. Nearing my ocean and seeing home only 15 miles in the distance the winds of over 25 mph appeared. Are you kidding me? And there I was again being tossed around with front winds that made me feel like I was going in reverse. It tossed me back and sideways at the same time. Unbelievable!

But I made it home safely and I still ❤️ motorcycling.

I wonder where the next trip will take me?

3 comments on “Arizona Ghost Town Tour: day 6 (what a fright!)

  1. Worst winds I’ve experienced on a bike. Laura was praying the whole time. Once we were on the 10 she asked to stop at the rest area at Whitewater for a sanity break. Wind was bad there but not coming directly from the right, as on 62. Finally got better in Beaumont once out of the Banning Pass.

    A rough ending to an otherwise great trip weather wise. Glad we went when we did.

    Also very thankful I didn’t hit that damn deer. In the desert west of Wickenburg it was a bit unexpected. God was watching.

  2. Holy Moley, y’all!!! We are so glad and thanking St.Christopher you made it through all those winds! Y’all are some badasses!! And you have some fierce guardians angels 😉 Welcome home. What an awesome adventure!

Leave a comment