Reunion tour blah blah blah – Day 4

US 191 > US 160 W> I-40 W. 369 miles

The day was crisp to say the least. I headed out to the Hole N’ The Rock for my smooshed penny (which I did get) and a picture of my beloved Bernadette R and myself.

And that is just what it was. And a zoo and a house made of rock too

After leaving I had to backtrack 40 miles in the crisp air to head toward Flagstaff. Was it worth it? Hmmm. Not certain. But I did get a smooshed penny mind you.

The ride was uneventful. So much expanse. Enough with the expanse. What does a gal have to do to get a billboard. It never ends.

I did stop in Bluff UT at the aptly named Bluff Fort. It was really interesting. Rickina would have loved it if there was a train there. The guides were very informative and everyone is so nice in Utah. I could never live there. I couldn’t live up to the standards.

An original log cabin home. So sparse.
A re-creation of a teepee. So sparse.

The guides told me about the REAL Hole ‘N The Rock, which he was quick to tell me that the one I saw was simply a tourist destination. Apparently the early settlers crossed through a true hole in the rock after 6 weeks of traveling. I wanted to ask him “well sure, but did they get a smooshed penny?” But he didn’t seem like the joking kind.

The ride was uneventful. So much rain. Why more rain? Enough with the rain . I saw the skies close in and thought I had a chance of beating it. But no. I did not. Ten miles of torrential downpour. I know that may not sound like much. But step into your shower, fully clothed, then run at 70 MPH, and then let me know your thoughts.

Don’t ride in October. That should be the title of this blog.

I arrived in Flagstaff safe and sound. I cannot say as much for my SPOT GPS. It died. It will not connect to any GPS signal. Maybe it got fried in the downpour…ha ha. — time to buy a new one

Once in my severely overpriced hotel in a severely overcrowded city (when did that happen?) I met up with my high school friend. We had a lovely meal. Caught up on over 40 years of life experience. How the time flies!

Tomorrow time to go home and take a vacation from my vacation.

Leave a comment