Arizona Ghost Town Tour: day 5

Miles = 223

Fights with Rick = daily 😉

Laura yelling at Rick and I = 1x 😳

79>60>88>202>101 (like five times looking for the 60) >74>60

The day started out very temperate which I was not used to. For roughly 90 miles we traveled a recently re-paved 79 with somewhat fresh oil on the newly laid asphalt.—always fun. To pass the time we talked about actors good and bad. I was heartened to know that others thought Bill Paxton was a horrible actor who speaks his lines without nuance or inflection. Laura added George Clooney to the list and so the morning passed until we reached the Goldfield Mine in Apache Junction.

The entrance. So excited!!

While waiting for the mine tour (which was not really worth the admittance fee) Laura couldn’t resist the Zipline and photobombed my picture while I was trying to catch the train. Geesh Laura.

This picture cracks me up

Here was the picture I was trying to take…

Some more pictures….

Superstition Mountain
Love me a tunnel or a wooden bridge

After having lunch where Laura’s mom Kate and her Aunt Deb joined us (they were two spicy characters. I liked them both immediately) we left for Chandler to see the train museum. Let the battle royale begin. We had a bit of a problem finding the museum as we were looking for a left hand turn when we were supposed to go right. After realizing our mistake and Rick thinking using my GPS was a good idea (he doesn’t like GPSs apparently and only trusts maps) so needing to make a U turn I didn’t feel good about it so I said no and he said yes just do it and I said that I SAID NO and he said it was a four lane road blah blah blah. Needless to say I did not do a U turn on this day and he took off at 1,000 mph leaving a trail of dust and I think a skid mark. Now in his defense he was correct. I could have made that turn easily but I kept imagining dropping my bike and getting run over by someone peeling out at 1000 mph. Meanwhile Laura was listening to this and pretty well tired of it. After Rick took off I just refused to move and then Laura told me to get going. I had some choice words about Rick and off we went. Finally finding the train museum Rick and I hugged it out. Then Laura told us both off and walked away. As she went to the restroom to steam Rick turned to me and said, “I guess she told us.” To which we both laughed. Laura didn’t laugh for at least another hour. Ha ha

The train museum was actually super cool and Rick surely does know his trains. It’s clearly rubbing off on Laura because she can train speak as well. I really never knew it was so complicated inside a locomotive I figured someone shoveled coal while some one else blew a whistle. Not so much. There are a ton of knobs and controls in there.

Ricks favorite locomotive

The rest of the day we just rode around looking for the 60 until we finally arrived at our hotel. Tomorrow we all go to our respective corners.

What a trip. Glad to have done it with my sister wife and Rick (though they may think otherwise)

3 comments on “Arizona Ghost Town Tour: day 5

  1. If we don’t have at least one spat per trip it ain’t a trip. Laura is right, we are very much alike! Poor Laura! But at least we were unanimous that Bill Paxton wasn’t much of an actor! It was really a fun day except for that one thing, the roads weren’t as fun as the 191, etc., but the sights were cool (especially the passenger train cars and steam locomotive). I wasn’t impressed with the mine per se but non-Dino was very informative about blasting and how the drills were used. Learned some new things. Today will be a long day of pretty boring back roads and then the most dangerous part of the whole trip: So Cal freeways. Until we ride again!

Leave a comment